Blue Devil athletes can start qualifying for the winter sports season

Blue Devil Winter Sports Start on November 14

Blue Devil athletes can start qualifying for the winter sports season

October 13 , 2022

The winter sports season is quickly approaching at Huntington High School as athletes and coaches begin preparations for the start of tryouts/practices on Monday, November 14.

The Blue Devils will field the following teams for the winter season: Varsity and junior varsity boys’ basketball, girls’ basketball, boys’ fencing, girls’ fencing, boys’ indoor track and field, girls’ indoor track and field, boys’ swimming and diving, wrestling, bowling and Unified bowling.

Students should sign-up in the nurse’s office. Every student needs to get re-qualified by the school nurse prior to each sport season. The nurse can only clear a student-athlete who has the following forms on file:

• Private Physical Exam Form (link below)
NYS Private Physical Examination Form for Athletes

• Interval Health History Form (link below)
Interval Health History for Sports Participation (English/Spanish)

All Blue Devil sports student-athletes are also required to submit a blue parent permission form to their coach no later than the first day of tryouts/practice.

The form can be found at this link:
Parent Consent Form for Athletes (English/Spanish)

Call the athletic office at 631.673.2017 or send a message to athletic director Jim Hoops at jhoops@hufsd.edu if you have any questions.

Winter Coaches Directory


Sport: Varity and JV Boys' Basketball

Varsity Peter Lipka lipkap11@gmail.com
Assistant Kevin Thorbourne longislandkev@optonline.net
JV Jake Torres torresj@hufsd.edu


Sport: Varsity & JV Girls Basketball

Varsity Mike Kaplan coachkaplan@gmail.com
Assistant Marissa Bergmann mbergmann@hufsd.edu
JV Katie Reilly katiereilly920@gmail.com


Sport: Varsity & JV Wrestling

Varsity Travis Smith tsmith@hufsd.edu
Assistant Michael Marinello mmarinello@husfd.edu
JV Jamie St. John hsaint282@verizon.net


Sport: Boys' Indoor Track

Varsity Ronald Wilson rwilson@hufsd.edu
Assistant Eli Acosta elviejoeli@gmail.com
Assistant Haidee Gantz-Bonhurst metropteast@aol.com


Sport: Girls' Indoor Track

Varsity John Kaplan jkaplan@hufsd.edu
Assistant Sarah Hall shall@hufsd.edu
Assistant Haidee Gantz-Bonhurst metropteast@aol.com


Sport: Boys' Swimming

Varsity Meg McConnell megmcconnell@me.com
Assistant Chris Helmke chelmke@hufsd.edu


Sport: Boys' and Girls' Fencing

Varsity Michelle O’Brien mich_obrien@optimum.net
Assistant Vincent O’Garra vco17@live.com


Sport: Bowling

Varsity Chris Taylor ctaylor@hufsd.edu


Sport: Unified Bowling

Varsity Lauren Blackburn lblackburn@hufsd.edu