Huntington High School Senior Academic Awards and Scholarships - 2010

Huntington Fire Department:

Howard Munson Scholarship (\$3,000):

Honorary Chief Robert Henneborn Award for Citizenship(\$500):

Honorary Chief Ray Mazoyer Award for Economics(\$500)

E.C. McGaul Award for Business (\$150)

Frank Carino Award for Athletics (\$150)

Bethany Smith
Elizabeth Mohr
Ariel Wertheim
Nicholas Wolber
Meredith McCourt

Councilwoman Susan A. Berland Award for

Excellence in Education Lori Messina

H.A.R.T.E. Scholarship (\$1,200) Dayna Reyes

Joel H. Cohen and Selma Cohen Swaim Elizabeth Mohr

Vocational Scholarship (\$1,000)

Khalil Award (\$300) Sarah Kulchinsky

Tri Community and Youth Agency Scholarship (\$500) **Joselin Rodriguez**

Rotary Club Scholarships: (\$6,000) **Joselin Rodriguez** (\$3,000) **Anthony Kouttron**

(\$3,000) Tatiana DiPaola (\$2,000) Lori Messina

Kevin Sze Memorial Scholarship: (\$1,600) **Chelsey Hoole Shlakman**

Kimberly Bene Foundation Nursing Scholarship: (\$1,500) Emily Bindrim

(\$2,000) Elizabeth Mohr (\$2,000) Bethany Smith

Associated Teachers of Huntington Scholarship: (\$2,000) **Joselyn Fejardo**

U.S. Army Reserve Scholar-Athlete Awards

Michaela Acton

Ryan Greenhill

U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award Allison Thompson

Distinguished Athlete Award Lauren Visbal

National Merit Scholarship (\$2,500) **Rebecca Silverman**

National Achievement Scholarship (\$2,500) Samuel Sainthil

Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship \$1,500/yr **Rebecca Silverman**

James Loebell Scholarship:	(\$1,000) (\$1,000)	Joselin Rodriguez Anthony Kouttron
A.L.I.V.E. Outstanding Student Scholarship: (\$100) Chelsey		helsey Hoole Shlakman
October Dawn Scholarship in memory of Kathryn DeGelleke (3,600)		Jeffly Jean-Baptiste
"Let It Begin With Me" William J. Oliva Memorial Scholarship (\$2,000 each)		Alexandra Kimchy Daniel Smith
Daniel J. Guido Memorial Scholarship (\$500)		Lori Messina
MSG Varsity Network (\$1,000 each)		Steven Inman Brittany Pucci-Schmitz
Unity Church of Healing Light (\$300)		Sarah Kulchinsky
T. Christopher Pettit Memorial Scholarship (\$10,000) (\$1,000)		Meredith McCourt Allison Thompson
Huntington Lions Club Scholarship: (\$5,000)		Joselin Rodriguez
Office of the State Comptroller Award		Esther Kum
PTSA Scholarships:	(\$500) (\$500) (\$500) (\$500)	Kyra Kiesel Lori Messina Joselyn Fajardo Chelsey Hoole Shlakman
Principal's Award:		Rebecca Silverman
Alumni Scholarships:	(\$500) (\$500)	Morgan Brown Brendan Gellerstein
Alumni Cups		Johanna Clifford Daniel Smith
American Legion Citizenship Awards		Lauren Campbell Gregory Meyers
Carmela Santorsola Provenzano Scholarship: (\$1,000)		Anthony Kouttron
Kiwanis Club of Huntington Quentin Sammis Memorial Award (\$1,000)		Thomas Monks
Bruce Grimminger Memorial Scholarship (\$500)		Daniel Mohammed

Tatiana DiPaola

Congressional Merit Award

County Executive Public Service Award Samuel Sainthil

Daughters of the American Revolution Awards

Meredith McCourt

Thomas Monks

Grace Gilbert Scholarship: (\$300) Greg Meyers

Jostens Recognition Award (\$500) Thomas Monks

Kurt Schaeffer Memorial Award: (\$1,000) Liane DeRosa

Robert K. Toaz Memorial Prize (\$100) Rebecca Silverman

Robert Buchanan Jr. Award: (\$100) Alanna Tieman

Triple C Attorney General's Awards Sarah Kulchinsky

Nicholas Schoen

Parent Appreciation Awards: (\$100) Alexandra Newton

Daniel Rabinowitz

DEPARTMENT AWARDS:

Art:

Outstanding Achievement in Visual Arts:

Photography:
Graphic Arts:
Johanna Clifford
Video:
Connor Pufahl
Fashion:
Stasa Doscas
Fine Arts:
Zach Teplin
Sculpture and Ceramics:
Brian Richardson

Art Honor Society Awards: Nisha Kapur

Maya Horton Morgan Brown Jordan Ruggieri

Music:

HHS Award for Overall Contribution in Music

Kieran McCarthy Fell

Evan McCann

American Legion Music Award (Medal): Lena Freed

Max Smoller

Blue Devil Band Service Award (Certificates): Caitlin Etri

Colleen Teubner Daniel Smith Dayna Reyes

Catherine Tacopina

Woody Herman Jazz Award Max Smoller

SCMEA Music Scholarship (\$100) Lena Freed

Tri-M Music Leadership Award (certificate): Evan McCann

James Doty Memorial Award (\$100): Lena Freed

Evelyn Daniels Memorial Scholarship (\$100) Taylor Fritts

Orchestra Parents Scholarship (\$200): Morgan Brown

Alyssa Crawley Tatiana DiPaola Elizabeth DeMaio

National School Marching Band Award(plaque): Johanna Clifford

Louis Armstrong Jazz Award (pin/Trophy/Plaque): Erin McGoldrick

Patrick Gilmore Band Award (plaque): Kieran McCarthy Fell

John Philip Sousa Award (pin/trophy/plaque): Evan McCann

New York State Field Band Conference Award (\$300): Thomas Monks

Jane Sullivan Award (\$100) Dayna Reyes

Dorothea Waddell Award (\$100) Ariel Wertheim

National Choral Award **Dayna Reyes**

Linda Shoemaker Blue Devil Scholarship (\$1,000) Thomas Monks

SOCIAL STUDIES:

Political Action Award:(\$100) Colleen Teubner

Sons of the American Revolution: Samuel Sainthil

Teddy Roosevelt Renaissance Person Scholarship Casey Singer

:National History Day Excellence in Research Anthony Kouttron

Jagoda Scholarship: (\$1,000) Erin McGoldrick

ENGLISH:

Sammis English Prize: (\$500) Rebecca Silverman

Promising Young Writer: (certificate) Samuel Sainthil

Joseph Samodi Theatre Arts Award: (\$50) Lena Fried

Kirsten Freiman

John F. Kellog Theatre Award: (\$50) **Rebecca Silverman**

Journalism Award: (certificate) Lauren Campbell

Catherine Tacopino

English Honor Society Award: (\$50) Johanna Clifford

Erin McGoldrick

Isaac Swezey Award for Original Writing: (\$50) Alexandra Kimchy

Sara Murphy Award-1st ranking in study of English: (\$50) **Colleen Teubner**

FOREIGN LANGUAGE/ESL:

French Award: (certificate) Sam Sainthil

Ariel Wertheim

Italian Award: (certificate) Erin McGoldrick

Haley Garofalo

Spanish Award: (certificate) Rebecca Silverman

(bilingual) Rosemary Quijada

Sons of Italy (Arthur Toscanini): (\$500 savings bond) Rebecca Friedman

Italian Honor Society (\$50 each student)

Jennifer Dell

Rebecca Friedman

SCIENCE:

Bausch & Lomb Science Award (medal/certificate): Alanna Tieman

Martin Schnittman Award for Physics (\$1,000) Alexandra Kimchy

Renssalaer Medal & Scholarship: (medal/certificate)

Anthony Kouttron

\$15,000/yr for 4 years to RPI

Suffolk County Science Teachers Association Award (certificate): Everett Coraor

Science National Honor Society Awards

SPECIAL EDUCATION:

S.E.P.T.A. Scholarships (\$1500 each student)

Jeffly Jean-Baptiste

Luis Lopez

MATH:

Edna VanWart Mathematics Award:

Judith Gleicher Mathematics Achievement Award:

Nana Jiang